Quick Enquiry

The De La Salle Health Sciences Institute

          De La Selle University is amongst the Top ranked University in Philippines and is a Catholic coeducational institution founded in 1911 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools. The University is a hub for higher education training renowned for its academic excellence, prolific and relevant research, and involved community service. Nestled in the heart of Manila, De La Salle University is home to local and international students seeking quality education for a brighter future ahead. It is situated in a vibrant city where culture and diversity is well manifested.

          In 1977, the University Physicians Foundation, Inc, was organized to establish a medical school in Dasmariñas, Cavite, in support of the government’s policy of dispersing educational facilities outside the capital city and encouraging the establishment of medical schools in various regions of the country to ensure the delivery of quality health care to them. The school opened in 1979 with the major hospitals like Dr. Jose P. Rizal National Medical Research Center, the Medical Center Manila and the Andres Bonifacio Memorial Hospital as its initial training hospitals.

          In 1980, the Foundation acquired 1.2 hectares of additional property and construction was started for a 180-bed base teaching hospital. This 4-storey hospital, named the University Medical Center, was inaugurated on July 31, 1982. In 1985, the construction of the second 4-storey Medical Research Building for the College of Medicine, now the Academic Building, started.

          In June 1987, the ownership and management of the Medical School and the University Medical Center were acquired by the De La Salle University. Since the De La Salle Brothers assumed ownership, both the Hospital and the College, have steadily grown. In 1990, the De La Salle University Medical Center continued its expansion. On April 7, 1994, to lend impetus to its research thrust, the De La Salle University Angelo King Medical Research Center was established. The De La Salle University Medical Center continued to grow with the opening of the 10-storey Teodorica Favis Vda. De Rivero Hall in 1997 and of the one-storey Jose Sotto Tantiansu Cancer Institute in 1988.

          In October 1999, the De La Salle University Medical Center gained the distinction of being the first hospital in the Philippines to be awarded the ISO 9001 Certification by the TUV– Rheinland, the first of a series of ISO certifications and other recognitions to be awarded to the hospital, recently of which is the Center for Excellence awarded by the Philhealth.

          Eventually, the institution’s name became De La Salle Health Sciences Institute (DLSHSI) upon the approval of the Board of Trustees in September 2007. The change of the name was arrived at to herald the Institution’s reinvigorated drive to pursue its avowed mission to become one of the leading health education and health care institutions in the country.

De La Selle University,details